Seniors Mark Moulton and Mikaela Shaw earned UNO's senior career achievement awards at the eighth annual Maverick Awards...
Courtesy: Cory Solo Photography

Mavericks Celebrate Achievements of Seniors

Omaha Athletics | April 23, 2017
LAVISTA, Neb. – Seniors Mikaela Shaw and Mark Moulton were honored for their career achievement, the culmination of the eighth annual Maverick Awards Banquet on Sunday.

A crowd of almost than 600 people were on hand at the Embassy Suites for the annual year-end gathering of Omaha student-athletes, family and program supporters.

Shaw, a standout for the UNO basketball team, earned the Connie Claussen Senior Career Achievement Award recognizing the outstanding career athletic, academic and community service achievement of a female student-athlete.  The award is sponsored by the Leland and Dorothy Olson Foundation.  

Moulton, a four-year captain for the men's soccer team, won the Don Leahy Senior Career Achievement Award which recognizes a male athlete who has had a similarly sterling career at UNO.  The Leahy Award is sponsored by US Assets, LLC.

Shaw also earned the Marian Ivers Female Athlete of the Year Award solely for athletic achievement this season.

Fazlo Alihodzic of the men's soccer team and Tra-Deon Hollins of the men's basketball teams were named co-winners of the Male Athlete of the Year, sponsored by the Maverick Board.

Senior Lia Mancuso of the softball team earned the Bob Kruger Commitment Award for outstanding community service.  Xavier Gomez of the men's soccer team earned the Dr. John Langan Phoenix Award for outstanding achievement in the face of adversity.  The award is sponsored by Aksarben Cinema.

Omaha women's soccer player Carlie Cook was named the Female Newcomer of the Year, sponsored by Pharmaceutical Technologies while Razvan Grigorescu of the men's tennis team was the Male Newcomer of the Year, sponsored by Control Services.

Elise Brown of the volleyball team and Joel Messner of the hockey team earned the Maverick Muscle Awards recognizing consistent achievement and motivation in the weight room by both a female and male athlete.  The women's award is sponsored by Complete Nutrition and the men's award is sponsored by Big Omaha Realty.

The Scott Vlasek family received the Director's Award recognizing someone from the campus or greater Omaha community for their outstanding, long-time support of Maverick Athletics.

Vice Chancellor of Athletics Trev Alberts also recognized the long-term support of retiring Chancellor John Christensen and Dr. Bill Wakefield, UNO's NCAA Faculty Athletic Representative for nearly 20 years.



2016-17 Maverick Awards Banquet: Senior Video
2016-17 Maverick Awards Banquet: Senior Video
Marlin Briscoe: 2016 CFB Hall of Fame Tribute
Marlin Briscoe: 2016 CFB Hall of Fame Tribute
2016 UNO Alumni Night of Honor
2016 UNO Alumni Night of Honor